Leaving the Scene of an Accident
In Colorado, it is a crime for a person involved in an accident to leave the scene of the accident without reporting it to law enforcement.
Penalties for leaving the scene of an accident/ hit & run (property damage/unoccupied vehicle) : Could include between 10-90 days in jail, and/or a fine of $150-$300.
Penalties for leaving the scene of an accident/ hit & run (serious bodily injury): could include between 2-6 years in prison and/or a fine of $2000-$500000.
Penalties for leaving the scene of an accident/ hit & run (resulting in death): could include between 4-12 years in prison and/or a fine of $3000-$750000.
What should a driver do after being involved in an accident?
1. Hit & Run, damage property only or hitting an unattended vehicle?
If the accident resulted in property damage only, the offense is considered a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense. If the crash resulted in a serious injury or the death of a person, then the hit & run can be charged as a class 3 felony.
- Contact the owner of the vehicle, or property;
- Write a note, and secure it to the vehicle/property in a place that it is easy to find. The note should include: full name, address, phone number, vehicle registration. Additionally, you must also call the police and notify the accident.
2. Hit & Run, of an occupied vehicle?
If you hit an occupied vehicle, by law you must remain on the scene of the accident unless the following is true:
- You leave the scene to seek help, because you are badly injured and in need of medical attention;
- You leave the scene to report the accident to the police;
- You leave the scene because you are moving the vehicle a small distance, to a safe place as to no obstruct traffic.
Note: If the person in the other vehicle is injured, you must when possible, provide reasonable assistance to the injured person.
*If you are convicted of leaving the scene of an accident, 12 points will be added to your drivers license and the DMV will revoke/suspend your driving privilege.
For Help – Schedule a Free Consultation!
If you or someone you love has been charged with a crime in Colorado, contact one of our experienced Attorneys at (303) 205-8495. Or, schedule a free consultation by clicking the link below.