Trespassing Defense Attorney in Denver, CO

A person commits the crime of first-degree criminal trespass if such person (a) knowingly and unlawfully enters or remains in a dwelling of another; or (b) enters any motor vehicle with intent to commit a crime therein.

While some criminal trespassing can be considered minor petty or misdemeanor offenses, some instances of trespassing can also be charged as a felony.

The penalties for trespassing depend on the degree of trespass charged. 

First-Degree Criminal Trespass Penalties

In Colorado, first-degree trespass is usually charged as a class 1 misdemeanor. A conviction is punishable by up to 364 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $1,000 or both.  

However, if trespassing occurs in an occupied dwelling, it becomes a class 6 felony. A conviction will then be punishable by up to 18 months in prison, and/or fines of minimum $1,000, up to a maximum of $100,000 or both.

Second-Degree Criminal Trespass

Second-degree criminal trespass can be charged as a misdemeanor or felony, depending on the circumstances.

Trespassing in a motor vehicle is generally a class 2 misdemeanor in Colorado. A conviction is punishable by up to 120 days in jail, and/or a fine of up to $750 or both. 

Trespassing on agricultural land with the intent to commit a felony is considered a class 4 felony. A conviction is punishable by up to 2-6 years in prison, and/or a minimum fine of $2,000 and up to $500,000 or both. 

If the crime does not fall into either of the two categories above (i.e., motor vehicle or agricultural land), second-degree criminal trespass is generally charged as a petty offense punishable by up to 10 days in jail, and/or up to $300 in fines or both. 

Third-Degree Criminal Trespass

Under Colorado law, third-degree criminal trespass is typically a petty offense. A conviction is still punishable by up to 10 days in jail, and/or up to $300 in fines or both.

Count on GLaw Defense for Quality Representation 

Being found guilty of criminal trespassing can have some unfortunate consequences. 

If you are being charged with criminal trespassing, it’s crucial to choose the right lawyer to represent you in Court. GLaw Defense has over 20 years of experience handling felony and misdemeanor offenses. We offer a free consultation — talk to us about your case, and we will let you know how we can help. 

Our attorneys are well-versed in criminal trespassing laws in Colorado. Contact Glaw Defense today for a 100% free consultation.