Burglary Defense Attorney in Denver, CO
The consequences of a burglary charge can be life-changing. This is why you need a dependable Denver burglary attorney if you face a felony burglary offense. This guide reviews the legal definitions for burglary, what the fines and penalties are and how to obtain the best possible outcome for your case.
What Is Considered Burglary in Colorado?
The State of Colorado defines burglary as knowingly entering/or unlawfully remaining on another person’s property with the intention to commit a crime. It’s a serious criminal offense that can carry jail time, heavy fines, and repercussions long after serving your time. Burglary can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony.
What Are the Different Degrees of Burglary?
There are 3 different types of burglary crimes:
First Degree (CRS 18-4-202)
Second Degree (CRS 18-4-203)
Third Degree (CRS 18-4-204)
The type of burglary crime charged will depend on the type of property and the danger posed to the people inside of it.
First-degree burglary is the most serious type of burglary and may come with additional charges, depending on the circumstances of the crime. If you knowingly planned to enter someone’s property and were in possession of a deadly weapon.
You could face a prison sentence between 4 to 12 years and between $3,000 to $750,000 in fines. First-degree burglary is a Class 3 felony but may be upgraded to a Class 2 felony under some conditions.
If a deadly weapon was involved in the crime, you could face assault charges, especially if you caused physical harm to someone. When facing multiple criminal charges, it’s important to discuss your case with a Denver burglary defense attorney.
Second-degree Burglary (Felony)
Second-degree burglary charged as a class 4 felony carries a sentence of 2-6 years with 3 years mandatory parole and between $2,000 to $500,000 in fines. The primary difference between third- and second-degree burglary is intent. If you knowingly entered another person’s business or home intending to commit a crime, or if you stayed on the premises without permission, the court may consider it a second-degree burglary.
Third-degree burglary is entering or remaining in somebody else’s property with the intent to commit a crime. Those convicted of third-degree burglary usually face penalties for class 2 misdemeanors such as up to 120 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $750.
If you were trespassing on someone’s property but didn’t steal, you may face a burglary allegation if the property owner believes your purpose for being there was to steal. You should speak with an experienced criminal defense lawyer to know your legal rights and options. Contact the attorneys at GLaw Defense for a free consultation about your burglary charges.
What’s Required To Convict Someone of Burglary in Colorado?
The prosecution has to prove intent when trying someone for a burglary charge. Simply being at someone’s property without permission isn’t enough to convict someone of burglary. Some evidence that could work against you includes the possession of burglary tools and weapons and whether or not you were there to commit a crime.
If the prosecution can’t prove intent to commit a crime from someone, you could be tried for trespassing instead. This is a misdemeanor offense, so it’s possible to avoid a multiple-year prison sentence and harsh fines if a jury finds that you didn’t show intent to commit a crime.
Why Hire GLaw Defense?
Our Denver burglary defense attorneys have extensive trial experience and know the law. A burglary allegation is serious, but it doesn’t need to have the serious and life-changing consequences that come with a conviction. We were voted Colorado’s Best Criminal Defense Attorneys for client satisfaction and have defended clients facing serious criminal charges for over 20 years. If you’ve been charged with burglary, contact GLaw Defense for a free consultation with one of our top rated attorneys.