Denver Attorney for Fleeing the Scene of an Accident

When a car accident occurs, many thoughts can go through a driver’s mind. Usually, the first thoughts turn to whether anyone suffered bodily injury, how bad is the damage to the cars, and what might happen with your insurance costs. But if the accident appears to be less than serious, another thought can cross drivers’ minds: whether it’s okay to leave the scene.

Fleeing the scene of an accident is a bad idea, even if you see no damage to your vehicle. According to Colorado law, leaving the scene of an accident without reporting it to police can carry serious consequences to your driver’s license and in criminal court. 

Here are a few things you should keep in mind about leaving the scene of a crash.

What Happens If You Leave the Scene of an Accident or Crime in Colorado?

That depends on your reasons for leaving the scene, as there are a few situations where the law considers it acceptable. For example, if you’re leaving the scene because you, a passenger, or the other driver need medical attention, or if you’re leaving to report the incident to the police after hitting an unattended vehicle, those could be considered acceptable reasons to leave the scene of the crime in certain situations.

If these conditions don’t exist, you’re likely looking at a serious legal charge if you leave the scene without providing your information to the other driver and reporting the incident to the police. Even if you’re sure that the other driver was at fault for any damage, you still should not leave the accident scene without getting their information, giving your own, and making sure the police are notified. 

What Are the Potential Consequences for Hit and Run Crimes in Colorado?

Under Colorado law, any driver who leaves the scene of a crash without a valid reason can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony. 

The penalties for leaving the scene of an accident in Colorado are harsh, and include:

  • Only Property Damage – You may face a Class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense, which could be punishable by 10 to 90 days in jail and/or fines between $150 to $300 or both.
  • Causing non-serious bodily injury to another – A Class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense, punishable by 10 days to 1 year in jail and/or fines between $300 to $1,000 or both.
  • Causing Serious Bodily Harm to Another – Upgraded to a Class 4 felony, punishable by 2 to 6 years in prison and/or fines between $2,000 to $500,000 or both.
  • Causing Death – Upgraded to a Class 3 felony, punishable by 4 to 12 years in prison and/or fines between $3,000 to $750,000 or both.

Contact GLaw Defense Today

When you’re accused of fleeing the scene of an accident, having a criminal defense attorney you can trust is an absolute must. At GLaw Defense, we understand serious traffic offenses and how to help our clients fight back against such charges. 

If you need legal defense after a hit and run, our team is here to help provide it. Contact GLaw Defense today for a 100% free initial consultation.